One of my friends found this song very touching  though he didn’t understand the language and asked me if I could  translate the song for him. Hence this post 🙂

Neer Illathe Naal Ellam is an ever-green old Tamil  classic popularized by late Dr DGS Dinakaran .A song that inspires,melts and moves hearts to tears .Hope this helps those who can’t understand to better understand and relate.

Hope this helps those who can’t understand to better understand and relate.

Though one cannot bring out the real essence and emotion of a song in a traslation I hope I can bring out as much as possible. Suggestions are welcome

Nee illatha naal ellam naalaguma
Will a day without you be counted as a day ?

Nee illatha vaalvuellam vaalva aguma
Will a life without you be counted as life?

Uyirin uttrae nee aavai
The Fountain of life are Thou!

Unmaiyin valiye nee aavai
The Way of Truth are Thou!

Uravin pirape nee aavai
The Birth of Relationship are Thou!

Ulathil magilve nee aavai
The Joy of my Soul Are Thou!

Nee illatha naal ellam naalaguma
Will a day without you be counted as a day ?

Nee illatha vaalvuellam vaalva aguma
Will a life without you be counted as life?

Yenathu aatralum nee aavai
My  Potential are Thou!
Yenathu valimaiyum nee aavai
My Strength Are Thou!

Yenathu aranum nee aavai
My Stronghold  are Thou!

Yenathu kottaiyum nee aavai
My Fortress are Thou!

Nee illatha naal ellam naalaguma

Will a day without you be counted as a day ?

Nee illatha vaalvuellam vaalva aguma

Will a life without you be counted as life?

 

Yenathu ninaivum nee aavai

My culmination are Thou!
Yenathu mozhiyum nee aavai

My language are Thou!
Yenathu meetpum nee aavai

My Redemption are Thou!

 

Yenathu uyirupum nee aavai

My Resurrection are Thou!

 

Nee illatha naal ellam naalaguma

Will a day without you be counted as a day ?
Nee illatha vaalvuellam vaalva aguma

Will a life without you be counted as life?

 

Neer Illathe Naal -Late Dr DGS Dinakaran

Neer Illathe -Premji Ebenezer

God Bless!

 

